Skip to content
Ohne Limit GuideGerman casino limits explained Play now
Comparison · As of 09.10.2026

Deposit limit at online casinos: the €1,000 monthly LUGAS limit explained

Values per casino, each with its source.

How we collect the data →

In Germany, the deposit limit at an online casino is first of all a figure set by law: under § 6c (1) of the State Treaty on Gambling 2021 (GlüStV 2021), the deposit limit that applies across all providers may, as a rule, not exceed €1,000 per month. This is not an amount per casino but one shared ceiling for all providers that are subject to the limit. It is kept in the limit file, one of the two parts of LUGAS, the cross-state supervisory system run by the GGL, the German gambling authority.

Anyone looking for a casino without a deposit limit therefore runs into two different levels: the statutory LUGAS limit and the limits an operator writes into its own terms and conditions. The home page on online casinos ohne Limit places all limits of the State Treaty in context, from the deposit limit to the stake limit; this page deals only with the deposit limit.

Sebastian KühlEditor · research and data · As of 09.10.2026 · Author page ›

The 5 casinos compared

Scroll the table sideways →

CasinoDeposit limitMinimum depositMaximum depositSelf-set limits
Tsars Casinokeine Betreiber-Obergrenze beziffert; Casino behält sich individuelle Mindest- und Höchstbeträge pro Transaktion vor (laut LCB)€20not statedEinzahlungslimit (askgamblers.com) · Sitzungslimit (askgamblers.com) · Sitzungslimit, Einzahlungslimit (lcb.org)
Goldenbet Casinonot stated€20 (askgamblers.com) · €10 (lcb.org) · €20 (Bonus) (lcb.org)abhängig von der Zahlungsmethode (kein fester Betrag genannt)keine Limit-Tools (askgamblers.com DE) · Kontolimits, Auszeit, Selbstausschluss (askgamblers.com DE) · begrenzte Optionen (de.casino.guru)
Slotum Casinokeine feste Betreiber-Obergrenze in den AGB; Höchstbetrag hängt von der Zahlungsmethode ab (Zahlungsseite: EUR max. 4,000 je Methode)€10; für Einzahlungsbonus €20€4,000 je Zahlungsmethode (Zahlungsseite); laut AGB methodenabhängigEinzahlungslimit (Tag/Woche/Monat), Verlustlimit (Tag/Woche/Monat), Einsatzlimit (Tag/Woche/Monat), Sitzungslimit, Cooling-Off
Rabona Casinokeine festen Beträge genannt; Betreiber behält sich Mindest-/Höchstbeträge der Einzahlung vornot statednot statedlaut AskGamblers keine: Einzahlungs-, Einsatz-, Verlust- und Zeit-/Sitzungslimit jeweils 'No'
Spinsy Casinokeine festen Beträge genannt; Betreiber behält sich Mindest-/Höchstbeträge der Einzahlung vor€10 (laut AskGamblers); Willkommensbonus ab €20 Einzahlung (Betreiber)not statedlaut AskGamblers keine: Einzahlungs-, Einsatz-, Verlust- und Zeit-/Sitzungslimit jeweils 'No'

The monthly limit across all providers (§ 6c GlüStV)

Under § 6c (1) GlüStV 2021, every player must set an individual monthly deposit limit across all providers when opening an account. Without a limit, there is no participation in play. The word individual is meant literally: the €1,000 are the ceiling, not a mandatory value, and a lower amount is just as permissible. Anyone who tries to enter more than €1,000 is asked to correct the entry. Only at that moment may the maximum amounts that are possible under special conditions be displayed.

Technically, every deposit runs through the limit file. Under § 6c (6), the file is queried before every deposit. If the limit is exhausted or would be exceeded by the planned deposit, the provider must reject the deposit. The player can be told the amount still available, and a new deposit process can be started. The limit is exhausted as soon as the sum of deposits in a calendar month with all providers subject to the limit reaches the amount set; no further deposit may then be made.

The deposit limit only caps the money that flows into the player account. How quickly that money is staked on a slot machine is governed by a different rule: under § 22a (6), a game must last at least five seconds on average. What this means for every single spin is explained in detail on the page about the 5-second rule on slots.

A special rule applies right at the start. Before the player's details are confirmed, participation in play and payouts are not permitted under § 6a (4). As an exception, play is allowed for 72 hours from account opening up to a deposit limit of €100; the notice that no payout is made until confirmation must be acknowledged beforehand.

Data storage is regulated as well. The amount, date and sum of deposits are deleted without delay after the end of the month, master data and the limit one year after the last activity in the limit file. After that, a deposit is cancelled and the limit has to be set again.

What counts: all providers, even failed deposits (GGL)

The limit applies across providers. A deposit with the first provider and one with the second end up in the same total, as long as both are subject to the limit. There is no second pot that opens with a new provider; the only thing that matters is the calendar month.

Under § 6c (9), the limit applies to all public games of chance on the internet. The only exceptions are deposits made solely for lotteries held no more than twice a week, and prize savings schemes. Instant lotteries on the internet, by contrast, do count.

Game features do not count. The limit measures deposits, not what happens inside a game. Whether a slot has a jackpot, spins automatically or offers a feature purchase is governed by separate rules: § 22a (8) prohibits accumulating stakes or winnings for future winnings, and program sequences that automatically start another game after one ends are not permitted. The details on autoplay, jackpots and bonus buy are on a separate page. These features do appear in the data of the 5 casinos: the sources list bonus buy categories for Tsars, Goldenbet, Slotum and Rabona, and jackpot games for all five brands, for Goldenbet only according to casino.guru.

In its FAQ on LUGAS, the GGL points out a peculiarity: failed deposits are recorded too, for example when a transaction is cut off by a poor internet connection, when a payment method is blocked or when a sign-in fails. According to the GGL, this is required by law and cannot be corrected. An amount that never reached the player account can therefore still use up part of the monthly limit. According to the GGL, the limit resets on the first day of each month.

The authority itself sees little of this. According to the GGL, the system only ever holds the current data of one month; deposits from the previous month and the history of earlier limits are no longer visible, and the data is stored only in pseudonymised form. Your own history is shown by the provider: under § 6d, players must be able to view their balance, game history, deposits and withdrawals as well as their limits for the past twelve months at any time.

Additional provider-level limits (§ 6c (2))

Alongside the limit across all providers, § 6c (2) GlüStV 2021 requires a second level. Providers must offer daily, weekly or monthly stake, deposit and loss limits. Once these are used up, continued play is not allowed. Such limits only apply with the respective provider and run alongside the monthly limit of the limit file.

The three types work at different points. A deposit limit caps what is paid into the account. A loss limit caps how much may be lost. A stake limit caps the stakes within the chosen period. The monthly limit of the limit file remains the outer ceiling across all providers, while provider-level limits apply only within one account.

How these levels fit together and which limits the State Treaty on Gambling sets overall, from the deposit limit to stake and game rules, is summarised in a separate overview. It also covers what the State Treaty means for casinos without a German licence.

According to the GGL, provider-level deposit and loss limits must be possible at any time and changeable free of charge. This matches § 6c (10): the licence holder may not charge the player any costs or fees for setting or changing a limit. This applies to the monthly limit of the limit file as well as to a limit with an individual provider.

Player protection includes further limits that are not about money. Under § 6h (7), the elapsed playing time is displayed, and every 60 minutes a notice must be explicitly confirmed before play continues. Under § 6i (3), a clearly labelled button triggers a short-term block of 24 hours without a confirmation prompt; it ends automatically. In addition, under § 6i (1), providers must use an algorithm-based automated system for the early detection of gambling addiction that analyses player account data.

Deposit limits of the 5 casinos

For the five brands on this page, none of the sources analysed mentions LUGAS or OASIS by name, and no German licence is stated for any brand. A LUGAS limit of €1,000 is therefore documented for none of the five. That does not make deposits unlimited there: the limits are set out in the terms and conditions and on the payment pages, often without a fixed amount.

The payment method adds a further limit. Tsars, Slotum, Rabona and Spinsy list Paysafecard among their deposit methods; it is not on Goldenbet's list. Which amounts apply when paying with a prepaid code and which alternatives exist is shown in detail on the page about paying with Paysafecard.

Tsars Casino: no operator cap is stated; according to LCB, the casino reserves individual minimum and maximum amounts per transaction. Minimum deposit €20, maximum deposit: no information. According to LCB, a fee of €1 per deposit applies.

Goldenbet Casino: there is no information on a deposit limit. The maximum deposit depends on the payment method; no fixed amount is given. The sources contradict each other on the minimum deposit: €20 according to AskGamblers, €10 according to LCB.

Slotum Casino: the terms and conditions state no fixed operator cap; the maximum depends on the payment method. The payment page states EUR max. 4,000 per method. Minimum deposit €10, €20 for the deposit bonus. Deposits and withdrawals are free of charge according to the terms and conditions.

Rabona Casino: the operator states no fixed amounts and reserves minimum and maximum deposit amounts. Minimum and maximum deposit: no information.

Spinsy Casino: likewise no fixed amounts; minimum and maximum amounts are reserved. Minimum deposit €10 according to AskGamblers; according to the operator, the welcome bonus starts from a €20 deposit. Maximum deposit: no information.

The operators state fixed limits mainly for withdrawals: Tsars €5,000 per day, €15,000 per week and €30,000 per month; Goldenbet €7,500 per week and €15,000 per month; Slotum €2,000 per day according to casino.guru, while the sources contradict each other for week and month (€5,000 or €15,000, €20,000 or €30,000); Rabona and Spinsy €500 per day and €7,000 per month at the entry level.

Setting your own limits: deposit, loss, stake

In general terms, the GGL says of providers without a German permit that measures such as deposit limits or self-exclusions are missing, which significantly increases the risk of gambling addiction. At the 5 casinos, which limits exist depends on the operator.

With a provider outside LUGAS, the limit file is not queried before each deposit, and a self-imposed limit then only works within your own account. What the limit and activity files record and which casinos are not connected is explained on the page about casinos without LUGAS.

Slotum lists on its responsible gaming page a deposit limit, a loss limit and a stake limit, each for a day, week or month, plus a session limit and a cooling-off period. These are the same three limit types that § 6c (2) lists. Self-exclusion works in the account for a set period or by email to support, temporary or permanent. According to AskGamblers, there is no reality check.

Tsars: the sources contradict each other. The AskGamblers table shows a deposit limit but no session limit; the AskGamblers text mentions only self-exclusion and session limits; according to LCB, session and deposit limits can be set by email. Self-exclusion via the profile or by email; no reality check, cool-off/time-out available according to AskGamblers.

Goldenbet has no tools for deposit, stake, loss or time limits according to the AskGamblers data sheet, while the body text of the same page mentions account limits. Self-exclusion via support for 6 months to 5 years; no reality check and no time-out tool according to the data sheet.

Rabona offers no limits according to AskGamblers: deposit, stake, loss and time or session limits are each marked No. Self-exclusion by email; according to casino.guru, it does not work properly. According to the operator, a break is possible via customer service for a chosen period; according to AskGamblers, there is no tool for it. Spinsy likewise has none of these limits according to AskGamblers; self-exclusion by email to support, and a break via support according to the operator.

Higher limits may not be advertised (GGL)

The GGL puts it clearly in its overview of player protection measures: providers may not advertise that the deposit limit across all providers can be higher than €1,000. A higher limit is therefore not a selling point but an exception subject to checks.

Table limits are a separate matter from the deposit limit. At the table, what counts is not how much is deposited per month but how high a single stake may be: according to LCB, Goldenbet lists live tables from €0.10 with stakes up to €20,000, and according to its terms Slotum states a maximum stake of €1,000 on card games; there is no information on this for Tsars, Rabona and Spinsy. More on roulette and blackjack, including table limits, is on the page about live casino without limits.

The GGL sets out the conditions in its FAQ. A raised limit of up to €10,000 per month requires inconspicuous playing behaviour and proven financial capacity; self-disclosure by players is not sufficient. Above €10,000 and up to €30,000 is possible only for at most 1 % of active players per provider. Under § 6c (1) GlüStV, an increase only takes effect after a protection period of seven days, whereas a reduction applies immediately. According to the GGL, the authority itself cannot change the limit; the provider alone decides on raised limits.

On slot machines, § 22a (7) states that the stake may not exceed one euro per game. Under conditions set by the GGL, a tiered deviation is possible from 1 July 2026, limited until 31.12.2027: up to €3 from the age of 21, up to €5 after 90 days of playing behaviour without signs of addiction. No per-spin stake limit is stated for any of the 5 brands. What the basic rule and its tiers mean for slots is explained in detail on the page about casinos without the 1-euro limit.

Short answers

FAQ

What is the LUGAS limit?

The monthly deposit limit across all providers under § 6c GlüStV 2021, as a rule no more than €1,000 per month, kept in the LUGAS limit file.

Does the limit apply per casino?

No. What counts is the sum of deposits in a calendar month with all providers subject to the limit.

What happens when the limit is exhausted?

Under § 6c (6), the provider must reject the deposit; the amount still available can be stated and a new deposit process started.

Do failed deposits count towards the limit?

Yes. According to the GGL, transactions cut off by a poor internet connection, blocked payment methods and failed sign-ins are recorded too; this cannot be corrected.

When does the deposit limit reset?

According to the GGL, on the first day of each month.

Is there a casino without a deposit limit?

For Tsars, Goldenbet, Slotum, Rabona and Spinsy, no source mentions LUGAS. They still have their own limits, for example Slotum with max. €4,000 per payment method according to its payment page.

Does changing the limit cost anything?

No. Under § 6c (10), no costs or fees may be charged for setting or changing a limit.

How long does an increase take?

Under § 6c (1), an increase only takes effect after a protection period of seven days; a reduction applies immediately. Conditions and procedure are explained on the page about raising the LUGAS limit.

Is there a casino without a deposit limit that takes PayPal?

PayPal is not listed among the deposit methods of Tsars, Goldenbet, Slotum, Rabona and Spinsy. Tsars, Slotum, Rabona and Spinsy list Paysafecard.

Keep comparing

More topics

The other comparisons and all profiles at a glance.

18+

Glücksspiel kann süchtig machen. Spielen Sie verantwortungsbewusst und nur mit Geld, dessen Verlust Sie verkraften. Hilfe und Beratung bieten die BZgA unter check-dein-spiel.de und die Suchtberatungsstellen der Länder, kostenlos und anonym.